Spokane Urology is expanding with a second location! Please note referrals are required.

Skip to main content

Testimonials & Reviews

4.7/5

Spokane Urology

Urologists located in Spokane, WA & Spokane Valley, WA

4.7/5 Star Rating
332 total reviews

Spokane Urology always appreciates feedback from our valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 332 reviews with an average rating of 4.7 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Spokane Urology below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Samanatha A.
1/5 Star Rating
Submitted 05/20/24
I've NEVER been treated so bad in all of my life my kidneys are bleeding through my urine and he looked at me like I was stupid he has his degree in his HEAD he doesn't have the concept of being the patient so he really deserves ZERO stars however the front desk lady and the assistant that took care of me were FABULOUS somebody give them a raise please and thank you!
Kelly C.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 04/19/24
In January of 2024 Dr. Shane Pearce, MD, with Spokane Urology performed a pyeloplasty surgery on me to remove a blockage in my ureter that was probably congenital. This surgery was done robotically and a stint was placed to aid my recovery. The stint was later removed. I had to stay one night in the hospital. Other staff from Spokane Urology who assisted during my surgery and recovery included Justin Overhoff, PA-C and Thomas Eskels, PA-C as well as nursing staff. It has been 3 1/2 months since the surgery and fortunately it has been 100% successful. The positive outcome of my surgery was possible due the these highly professional individuals. I highly recommend these three qualified professionals and all of their nursing staff if you need to have this kind of a surgery in the future. Communication was exceptional, they answered all of my questions, and they took actions in a timely manner.
Barb B.
1/5 Star Rating
Submitted 04/17/24
We have no choice here in Spokane. I have been calling twice a week since the 28th of March to get the stent out that was placed on March 27th. Says they will call back "within 48 hours." I have not received a call back! I called my doctor. She was told "they are trying to find an OR for me, will call when they do. You can have more pain meds." I do NOT NEED pain meds, I NEED this stent out, the cause of my pain! I can't stand, sit upright, bend, do daily activities more than 30 minutes without stinging, burning, tugging, feeling like all my inners are going to fall out plus bleeding! I have travel plans that I can't cancel, hubby's 60th Birthday and my son's college graduation next week! I want to be able to enjoy these without pain and using the bathroom every 30 minutes! I'm so desperate I called Post Falls Urology. They answered the phone! Spent 20 minutes answering my questions! The MA told me the longer this is in, the more chances of infection! However, while I have this in, no one else can see me! Patients shouldn't get to the point of being desperate nor feel abandoned! Now I see why we have opioid addiction since doctors, staff cant take care of you, but can easily prescribe more pain meds until they can. Negligence is the feeling I'm getting.
Jayme B.
2/5 Star Rating
Submitted 04/04/24
We have been dealing with Brittany Bransford for what was discovered as a very "inflamed" bladder. A foley catheter was placed as my developmentally disabled son, who is non verbal, was told he was not emptying his bladder. Because he is medically fragile, he does have nursing care in the home. The nurses have orders to keep strict records on input and output. What we found is that with or without the catheter, he was having the same amount of output. Now, Brittany had been wonderful to us, however, trying to get a call back from ANYONE is pretty much impossible. We needed to change the foley but we were not provided any supplies. I went to the office to get some and you would have thought I had asked for an ultra sound machine and half of the doctors earnings! I just wanted a new bag and tubing and the necessary packets for cleaning the area before placement. Well, we got the bag and tubing... the end. The reception area for the most part are rude and unprofessional. One time, a lone receptionist, went thru every single drawer up front, just to find a pen! Messages for call backs never seem to go any further than the person who took them. I've been placed on hold for up to 45 minutes. My son was on the surgery schedule for a tube placement. I have canceled this surgery. They truly have not shown me any evidence that he needs this placement. Sorry folks but when I can't even get a very simple call back...I hesitate to let you put my son under anesthesia for a procedure that may or may not be necessary.
Patricia C.
1/5 Star Rating
Submitted 03/25/24
On Wednesday (02/28) I went to ER with a lot of pain looking for a diagnosis. The diagnosis was kidney stones. I expected to be operated on the same day, but they discharged me and asked me to contact Spokane Urology to schedule my surgery. The same day I was in the ER, I experienced a lot of pain while urinating at night but couldn't use the strainer because, due to the amount of medication, I was experiencing diarrhea (which lasted two days). Day after, I called Spokane Urology and they got scheduled to see the doctor on March 5th (6 days after the painful episode). However, by February 29th, I had no more pain. During the consultation, the doctor didn't examine me. He simply came into the room, said the stone was too large to pass without surgery. I indicated that I wasn't in pain and wasn't taking any medication. I thought he would ask for a repeat examination, but it wasn't requested. He only scheduled my surgery for March 18th. I continued without any pain, and the doctor's office did not contact me for follow-up or to repeat the tests a week prior. On my own initiative, I read some cases of people who had kidney stones and felt no pain and that removal was important to prevent organ failure. And since the doctor indicated that it was too large to pass on its own, I didn't expect to go through what I did. On March 18th, I was admitted to the hospital. The anesthesiologist and the doctor came to talk to me very quickly; no further examination or procedure was requested. To my surprise, when I woke up from the "surgery," the nurse said there was no kidney stone. That I had already passed it. The doctor never came to talk to me, and no one from the clinic responded to me. I underwent an unnecessary procedure because the doctor (whom should know better this could happen) did not check if I still had the kidney stone. Day after I have a sore throat and pain while urinating due to the procedure, experiencing diarrhea due to the medications, and with a very high medical bill for a procedure that didn't happen and needed. If the doctor had thought on my wellbeing (mentally, physically and financially) he had requested this verification on Friday before the procedure, I wouldn't have had to go through this stress and be under general anesthesia for nothing. Still not heard from Spokane Urology and I was wondering this might be because I am foreign and maybe the company think can treat us unprofessionally?
Kay D.
2/5 Star Rating
Submitted 03/08/24
I like Dr Lance, however there is a receptionist there, that Everytime we go there is very rude and I think very unfriendly. Your service begins with the check in process, that woman we dealt with really needs some customer service training!
Jess W.
1/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/27/24
Eight days ago I received an MRI report of a large lesion, "highly likely ... significant cancer" in my prostate. I spoke briefly to a nurse that day who said I would hear "soon" from a Spokane Urology biopsy scheduler. Eight days later--nothing. I've left messages every day, including today, for the doctor, nurse, scheduler, office manager, anyone--and not gotten a single callback. Desperate, I'm resorting to this. Maybe here I can tell you that you have a mistake in the report (my last PSA test was 11.99, not 1.99 as you recorded it) and to inquire about how such a large lesion could be missed by your two previous biopsies. I don't want to leave a bad review, but eight days without a callback is infuriating. I'm having trouble sleeping and working and have to see a dentist because I've ground my teeth down waiting for a phone call to talk over the results. I just now called a Seattle clinic and they are willing to set up a tele-appointment for tomorrow. The expense of traveling to Seattle for treatment would be large, but at this point, I don't see any alternative. The consolation of medical practices like urology makes for terrible care. It means there is one place you can go and they apparently don't have to be responsive to patients' needs.
Ronn R.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 09/10/23
Dr. Walker evaluated me for prostate issues. The evaluation was a significant improvement from what I experienced the prior year in the largest urology office in Coeur d'Alene. I had the impression that if they could do anything to reduce the discomfort, Spokane Urology would do it. I was most impressed that at the end he recommended that I see a therapist. That can't be the most profitable way to go for him. I left thinking that he was giving me his best thoughts on the subject. The office itself was efficient and well run. In my experience, getting any doctor on the phone is hard. The only tip I can offer is that while you are at the appointment, get a phone extension of someone in case you need to follow up.
D Scott M.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 05/16/23
I was absolutely dreading a required prostate biopsy, after reports of excruciating experiences from family & friends. Dr. Walker reassured me that he could make it bearable. Once the appointment day came, I was still sweating bullets. I was called back to the procedure room on time, and the worst part of the whole 20 minute event was indignity and some pressure. I could hear what was happening, but Dr. Walker numbed me (and relatively painlessly at that) so that I barely felt anything beyond a little discomfort. If I need further treatment, I hope it's with Dr. Walker! (I wonder whether the phone/reception problems others have reported are old news; I had efficient handling.)
Rob J.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 03/23/23
Dr. Walker gave me my quality of life back! I traveled from San Diego to have Dr. Walker perform my Aquablation surgery at Valley Hospital and the outcome couldn't have been better! He was recommended to me by two nationally recognized doctors and I personally recommend him highly. I developed severe BPH issues and my prostate was enormous. Unlike the high risks of older surgical options, Aquablation is minimally invasive, very low risk and everything still works. At 60-years old, my urine steam is now strong and free-flowing and my erectile function and ejaculation are all like they were when I was in my teens! My wife volunteers this good news to others a little too freely. I wish I had gotten this done sooner but this new technology was not available much sooner in the U.S. but it is now. I am so thankful to doctor Walker for his expertise, his staff, and the wonderful Valley Hospital nurses.
Christine B.
1/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/10/23
While I'm sure the doctors are great, the phone system is criminal. A man, unable to pass urine, stuck with a catheter for almost a week - and no phone call back from this office. The phone message states that the system has improved. I hate to see what it was before this great improvement. Please, please, someone contact me to get my husband the help he needs. This is supposed to be health care - not health I-don't-care.
Franklin F.
2/5 Star Rating
Submitted 12/08/22
I would give the providers five stars, but the office is not worth even one star. No one answers the phone. There is no privacy at the desk and everyone in the waiting area can hear confidential information being given to the receptionists. The receptionist at our last visit was not only rude but failed to send our information back and we waited 45 minutes until finally checking to see what was wrong. Now a prescription has run out and it has been two weeks since the pharmacy faxed a request for renewal. They still have not gotten the prescription. They are faxing another request and suggested that we phone you EVERY DAY until we get a response. What is wrong with you people?
Ralph W.
2/5 Star Rating
Submitted 12/07/22
Dr. Deters is fantastic! Very knowledgeable and a caring physician. However, I believe this practice needs a professional office manager that oversees the efficiency of the operation which is very lacking in this operation. First, it usually takes anywhere from 15 minutes to 1 hour to get someone to answer the phone. They obviously need to hire more telephone answerers. Secondly, I waited in the check in line for 20 minutes while a new patient, just ahead of me, filled out her paperwork at the reception desk while the receptionist just waited and allowed her to do so as the line grew. As I mentioned, Dr. Deter and he is staff are amazing but they are not served well by the system now in place, not to mention the anxiety this causes their patients.
Ginger R.
2/5 Star Rating
Submitted 12/05/22
I am sure the doctors in this practice are great but their phone system is horrible to make appointments. I am calling for my mom her doctor sent a referral over a month ago and we have not heard back. She just sent another one after an ER visit so I tried to call and make appointment as it's a more urgent appointment and you wait on hold forever only to be transferred to leave a message on voicemail. Very poor office management when it comes to staffing your phones and making appointments I see many other complaints here for the same reasons with this practice. I hope you will take a look at your procedures and hire more people to man your phones. I have worked professionally in many hospitals and doctors offices and this is a poor reflection of your office. Please take note and do something as this will eventually affect your business if not addressed.
Dan D.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 10/17/22
Five stars for Dr. Deters. No stars for customer service. They really need to get someone to answer the phones!
Terry N.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 09/15/22
Dr Deters is the best Dr I have ever visited. He was very knowledgeable about the procedure needed (robotic surgery on a kidney). The complete operation could not have gone better and the recovery was quick. I am very thankful for Dr. Deters and the entire Spokane Urology team. I always felt valued as a patient. I highly recommend them!
George R.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/31/22
Three hour surgery by Dr. Carlos was amazing! Opted for the 3 hour to remove 4 cysts vs 1 hour to remove one. No pain at all. Had a coincidental hernia that required 2 separate surgeries after the kidney surgery all in 9 days. Dr. Carlos expression at our follow up and noting the 2 emergency surgeries was funny even if I did look like Beetlejuice from lack of sleep for 2 weeks. I highly recommend Dr. Carlos for his robotic surgery skills and great bedside manner. His nurses were all fantastic as well.
Andrew H.
3/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/23/22
I would rate my actual medical experience at this office a 5/5. Dr. Deters is fantastic, a skilled surgeon and has a great bedside manner. However, contacting this office for follow up appts and lab appts is an absolute nightmare. I never waited on hold less than 15 minutes and typically it was between 20 and 46 minutes. Then at the end of my hold time I had to leave a message and it would take a week to receive a call back. When you're on hold you hear a recording that your call is "very important" to the clinic, but after 20 minutes it really doesn't feel that way.
Mike G.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 07/08/22
DR Deters and the entire staff at Spokane Urology are exceptional. Great medical care, and a friendly, caring environment. Highly recommended.
David P.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 01/27/22
I cannot speak too highly of the excellent treatment and care I’ve received at Spokane Urology. Dr. Carlos and his nurse, James, recently performed a biopsy on me. Dr. Carlos and James took the time to listen to my concerns, answer my questions, and “talk” me through the process as it was underway. Their bedside manner and commitment to helping is greatly appreciated. I highly recommend Spokane Urology.